Skip to content

2021 Knights Girls win Holiday Classic Tournament


The Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond High School girls’ basketball team hosted their annual Knights Holiday Classic Tournament December 21-23. Teams entered were ALAH, Windsor/Stew-Stras, and Sullivan in Pool A, and Cumberland, Flanagan Cornell Woodland, Shelbyville, and Mt. Zion in Pool B. Chrisman unfortunately was unable to participate so each team had a bye in one of the rounds of Pool play and it was determined that the ALAH JV team would play in the seventh place contest.
The tourney opened on Tuesday evening with Cumberland beating FCW 50-14, ALAH topping WSS 50-25 and Mt. Zion just getting by Shelbyville 54-53.
Wednesday was the second night of Pool play and Cumberland bested Shelbyville 46-38, MZ won over FCW 64-31 and the Knights topped Sullivan 52-25.
Thursday was the final day of the tournament with the last of the pool games in the morning and then the finals later in the afternoon. The morning results were Mt. Zion over Cumberland 52-17, Shelbyville besting FCW 52-40 and WSS topping Sullivan 47-39.
The finals kicked off in both gyms at 3:00 p.m. with the Flanagan Cornell Woodland Falcons defeating the ALAH Knights JV 57-33 in the seventh place game. The fifth place game saw the Shelbyville Lady Rams win over the Sullivan Lady Redskins 61-44.
At 4:30 p.m. the third place game in the old gym was won by the Cumberland Pirates 57-31 over
the Windsor/Stew-Stras Hatchets.
The new gym was the site of the Championship game between the host school Knights and the Mt. Zion Braves. The game was a well fought battle between two very good teams. The Knights led 29-26 at the half and as in the first two games of the tourney turned up the defense in the second half and only allowed the Braves to score 11 points in the final two quarters while scoring 25 themselves. The Knights took the tourney title 54-37.
There were ten players named to the All-Tournament Team. Nathan Seal, Athletic Director presented plaques to the girls that were selected by the coaches. The following teams had two players selected: ALAH-Alexa Miller and Claire Seal; Mt. Zion-Denver Anderson and Abby Scharf; and Shelbyville-Trinity Wade and Mia Wade. One player each was named from Cumberland-Zoe Mitchell; Flanagan Cornell Woodland-Ella Derossett; Sullivan-Kiley Dyer and Windsor/Stew-Stras- Ella Kinkelaar.

Leave a Comment